top of page
  • Writer's pictureGabby

Series Review: A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

Since most of you guys wanted a review of this whole series, here it is! This review will most likely contain some minor spoilers so read on at your own risk.

 

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson is the first book in this thrilling trilogy. The first book sets the scene with the main character, Pip, working on her end-of-the-year project. She chose to look at the murder of Andie Bell who was presumed dead by Sal Singh. We were also under the assumption that Sal committed suicide and texted a confession before his own death. The reason why Pip is so intrigued by this case since Andie's body was never actually discovered. Pip went into her own investigation where she teamed up with Sal's brother, Ravi, to help prove Sal was innocent along.

This first book continues with Pip building up a huge person of interest list where you are constantly asking questions. There was never a point where I was fully convinced it was one person or the other. As the story goes on, we learn so much about Andie and her past life that truly makes you question everything. We are also wondering if Sal is actually innocent or not. Without spoiling anything, this book truly kept me on my toes and when it was finally revealed who did it, I was left speechless. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40916679-a-good-girl-s-guide-to-murder

Good Girl, Bad Blood by Holly Jackson was somehow more wild than the first book. Pip has now gone and started a true-crime podcast based on the case she was working on last year. We assume that she is done with her investigating days, but Jamie Reynolds has now gone missing. She took matters into her own hands when the police decided to not do anything about it.

This second book goes deep into all the secrets that Jamie had and how they intertwined with one another. We truly get to watch Pip grow and mature as a character after all the events of the first book. Just like what I said about the first book: I don't want to spoil anything but another case meshes itself into each of these cases making it much more elaborate than we thought. This book in itself makes the whole series worth it because of the ending. The twist was one of the best that I have ever read! https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/51335759-good-girl-bad-blood

As Good as Dead by Holly Jackson is the final book in this thrilling trilogy. We follow Pip and how she deals with the PTSD caused by the previous book. She truly has to grab hold of her emotions to deal with a crazy situation. Pip receives a unique death threat that keeps asking the same thing while also noticing that she has a stalker. Once again, the police do not help her so she has to go and figure things out on her own. What catches her attention are the similarities that her stalker has to a serial killer who is supposedly behind bars. In true Pip fashion, she believes the wrong man is behind bars and attempts to solve yet another mystery.

With this final book, we are left with such a huge twist. I honestly thought the second book had the biggest twist, but this book topped it. The situation in this book truly shows how Pip, Ravi, and all her other friends are truly bonded for life. They would do anything for each other, and I mean everything. Trying to leave this review as spoiler-free as possible! https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/52814139-as-good-as-dead

Everything about this series was amazing. It kept me on my toes which made these really quick reads. I just want you guys to check out this series especially if you are new to reading or new to thrillers. This series is one of two that got me into reading as a whole because of how it kept me turning the pages. This third book came out very recently and I read it in about 3-4 days. On the last day, I started at 50% and went on until I finished the book. Let me know if this series is one you are planning on checking out! I am linking each photo to Amazon so that you guys can go straight to it! I've also put the link to each books' Goodreads page if you want to learn more about the series.

 

If you want to see my TBR and what I'm reading, check out my Goodreads profile: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/127513184-gabby. (I am not sponsored by Goodreads, it is simply just the app/website I use to track my reading!)


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page